ACM Kolkata Chapter Best B. Tech. (CS/IT) Dissertation Award 2017

ACM is wide known for the prestigious International Doctorate Dissertation Award.
The Indian version was started a few years back, sponsored by TCS.
ACM Kolkata Professional Chapter in the same line has started the Bachelor Degree Dissertation Award for West Bengal Region from 2016.

Eligiblity Criteria:
1. Final year Passout B.Tech/B.E. students from Computing disciplines (West Bengal Region)
2. From a single institute, maximum 2 teams per department can participate.
    For example, maximum 2 teams from CS and 2 from IT, totalling 4 entries.
3. The respective department HOD will have to nominate the teams.

Last date for submission of nominations: May 7, 2017
Last date for submission of the complete project report: April 7, 2017

Project presentation: May 23, 2017 May 27, Saturday, 2017 Announcement of Result: May 27, 2017 [on-spot, via e-mail and on website]

Cash Awards (sponsored by Ixia)
ACM Project Contest - Best Project Award: Rs. 25,000/-
ACM Project Contest - Runners Up Award: Rs. 15,000/-
ACM Project Contest - Second Runners Up Award: Rs. 10,000/-

Application fee per entry: Rs. 1000/- + 15% Service Tax for two members.
Additional team members may register for the presentation event @ Rs. 500/-
+ 15% Service Tax per head by May 15, 2017.

Fees can be paid by students or by the institute as deemed, however, the students need to get approval from department HOD before submitting. For extension needed for getting approvals, write e-mails to Contact given below and we will try to accommodate.

All team members of a project may register, but in order to make presentation non-clumsy, maximum two will be allowed to present - others can be at the podium for the Q&A round. Certificates will contain names of all registered team members. There will be participant certificates [registered teams] apart from winners.

In 1st round, dissertations will be reviewed by both academia / industry panelists and decision of selection for next round will be communicated via e-mail. In 2nd round, selected B.Tech projects / dissertations will be asked to present in front of the jury (with separate slot for Q&A) and winners declared later.
Round 2 timings:
Presentation Duration: 15 minutes [there will be a timer]
Q&A Duration: 5 minutes (may get extended)

Jury: from Academia and Industry

Round 2 schedule (27 May):
10 am - Reporting Time
10:30 am - 1:30 pm - Team Presentations [Teams 1 - 8 ]
1:30 pm - 2pm - Lunch
2 pm - 5:30 pm - Team Presentations [Teams 9 - 17 ]
5:30 pm - Break / Jury Discussion on Winners Selection
6 pm - Award Ceremony

Tea/Coffee/Nibbles available round the clock: hence no separate tea break.

Venue of presentation:
ACM Kolkata Professional Chapter
Block JD, Sector III, Department of Computer Science & Engineering
University of Calcutta, Salt Lake, Kolkata 700106 (10 mins walk from Nicco Park)
Entry via West side Gate : Google Maps Link
Time: 27 May, 10:30 am on-wards.

Institute ID cards are mandatory for the presentation round for verification.

If you have not done already, send your drafts of thesis to by May 22.

Send your presentation (15 min - usually maximum 10-15 slides) to by May 26 11:59 pm.
There will a computer with Office installed that can be used to present - personal laptop not allowed for presentation.

Slide guideline:-
What is the problem?
Why is it important?
What others have done?
What you have done?
[most weightage] Solution Details / Uniqueness / Solution Maturity / Challenges faced
Limitation and Future Improvement

Nomination Form 2017

For more clarification (if any), contact:
Round 1 results: (Selected to present on 27 May)

Note: The following list is un-ranked. Ranking will be done based on presentation and thesis and results (top 3) will be announced after Round 2. Top 3 thesis (PDF) will be made available here.

Team No. Student Names Institute Name
1 Riya Samanta, Chandni Kumari University College of Science Technology and Agriculture [CU]
2 Shubhamay Sarkar, Sreyashi Mukherjee RCC Institute of Information Technology
3 Ameeya Sengupta, Sriparna Bose Calcutta Institute of Engineering and Management
4 Soumyajit Pal, Sounak Mondal Jadavpur University
5 Aniruddha Banerjee, Auvik Dey Techno India, Salt Lake
6 Shayon Gupta, Poulomi Sen Meghnad Saha Institute of Technology
7 Sayak Paul, Moinak Ghoshal Netaji Subhash Engineering College
8 Abhijeet Raj, Samprabh Mishra Techno India, Saltlake
9 Sandip Shrivastava, Paulami Bhattacharya Techno India College of Technology
10 Bipin Paul, Debartha Saha B.P. Poddar Institute of Management and Technology
11 Subarno Pal, Suvam Mondal Academy Of Technology
12 Subhajit Saha RCC Institute of Information Technology
13 Dipayan Deb, Drona Banerjee Techno India, Salt Lake
14 Ashish Kumar, Aryan Singh Techno India, Salt Lake
15 Satyaki Chakraborty Jadavpur University
16 Sneha Dutta, Ahona Ghosh Techno India College of Technology
17 Yeshwanth V IIT Kharagpur

Listeners' Registration:

Eligibility: Only for team-mates of the contestants who have not registered
Cost: Rs. 200 + S.T. (total Rs. 230/-)
Payment Process: Only Cheque or Bank Transfer
If paying via NEFT, pay by Thursday 25 - share the transaction no. via email to:
If paying by cheque, hand over the cheque at Helpdesk@CU on 27 May
Payment: NEFT or Cheque in favor of "ACM Kolkata Chapter"
Bank Name: HDFC Bank, Pune
A/c No.: 50100188275566
IFSC Code: HDFC0000007

Note: With Listeners registration, participant can not take part in Q&A round, For Q&A participation, normal team registration with Rs. 575 /- is required.