About : The ACM Kolkata Bachelor's Dissertation Award was established in 2016. This award recognizes the best bachelors dissertation from a degree-awarding institution based in West Bengal for each academic year, running from August 1 of one year to July 31 of the following year. This award is accompanied by a prize of INR 25,000 with two runners up prizes of INR 15,000 and INR 10,000. This award is additionally supported by Ixia. This award is given to passout year B.Tech or B.E. or similar degree courses in Computing disciplines (Computer Science or Information Technology).

2016 Contest      2017 Contest      2018 contest

Rank Award Type Team No. Name (s) Institute Dissertation Title Link
1 Winner 4 Soumyajit Pal, Sounak Mondal Jadavpur University A Beta Distribution Based Novel Scheme for Detection of Changes in Crowd Motion
2 Runner Up 15 Satyaki Chakraborty Jadavpur University Learning deep representations for place recognition in SLAM
3* 2nd Runner Up 17 Yeshwanth V IIT Kharagpur Risk Analysis of Road Networks During Floods
3* 2nd Runner Up 1 Riya Samanta, Chandni Kumari University of Calcutta Node Localization using Artificial Neural Network for Wireless Sensor Network
4 Special Mention # 5 Aniruddha Banerjee, Auvik Dey Techno India, Saltlake Hierarchical Clustering through Dimensionality Reduction Technique for Community Detection

* there is a tie for rank 3.
# Special Mention Award contestants get 1 year free ACM membership re-imbursement.

Note: Links to final camera-ready dissertations will be uploaded soon.